February 4th, 2013

Dear Family,

It has been one of the most spirit felt weeks of my mission this last week. A lot of good things are happening in Thailand and I have alot of faith that things are going to get even better. This last week at transfers some very good news came out. 4 missionaries were allowed to go to laos for the first time.

 “By invitation, the Thailand Bangkok Mission received approval to have four young service volunteers to labor in Vientiane, Laos.  These service volunteers will work with Deseret International Charities under the direction of the Senior Couples who are located in Vientiane, and will be involved in a variety of humanitarian and educational service opportunities, including clean water projects, hygiene, neo-natal education and English language instruction.  The young volunteers will also support the Branch activities of the Laotian Saints in Vientiane, Laos.  The Church is not yet officially recognized in Laos and this recent activity is for the purpose of providing additional educational and humanitarian service.”

 

Although they can not proselyte, it is a stepping stone for the future. It was a very surreal moment when President senior announced that those 4 would be going in. In that group is elder wright who amy knows. After that we went and taught a few new investigators. One of them was sister nan. We have taught her 2 times so far and she is already having spiritual experiences in the book of mormon. The second lesson we taught the plan of salvation and she said a very real truth. We asked if she had any questions and she said “no, I dont know if I understand everything in my mind, but I understand it all inside.” She was learning through the power of the holy ghost, not our simple words. This statement stuck with me and as I thought more about it, it really tells how little we as missionaries do. We are simply guides for the spirit. As we speak with the spirit, that is when the investigator understands.

This last week was also district conference and the missionaries were invited to sing. We sang the song dear to the heart of the shepherd. The words have a lot of meaning, especially for a missionary as that is our duty and our opportunity; to be the Lords under shepherds and lead his children back to his fold. After we sang the district president asked all the new converts to stand up. The spirit swept over me as I got to see some of the converts that I helped stand up with smiles on their face. It was a good feeling and I feel so blessed to be a part of their conversion.

The spirit is all over the mission and with it comes miracles. I am so happy that I have a year left to help the Lords work progress.

Later

Elder Harley

PS.- I know its far away, but I was wondering if you could get me a few details about school. I registered to start school in spring semester of 2014. Can you go see what the rules are on changing that. For example if I wanted to start in fall or if I came home 3 weeks early and started in winter. I havent made any decisions, but I want to know when I need to make the decision. thanks

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

